ASEAN Green Hotel Standard

The objective of this Hotel Standard is to develop an Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) Green Hotel Standard with a certification process which increase the environmental-friendly and energy conservation in the ASEAN accommodation industry. The standard establish a professional green hotel operation, such as environmental plan, green product, human resource and environmental management, which enable environmental and communities to benefit from a collective approach to operational professionalism.

ASEAN Green Hotel Award is a ceremony held by the ASEAN Member States, as recognition to those who complied with the ASEAN Green Hotel Standard. This year Malaysia becomes the host country for the fourth ASEAN Green Hotel Award. The first ASEAN Green Hotel Award was held in Thailand in 2008 followed by Brunei Darussalam in 2010 and Indonesia in 2012.

The principle of environmental friendly is requirements of the judgment, as stipulated in the ASEAN Green Hotel Standard, which has been agreed by all the ASEAN Member States since it was first drafted in 2007. There are 11 major criteria has included in ASEAN Green Hotel Standard. The assessment for ASEAN Green Hotel Standard carries by national authorized body in respective country. Every ASEAN Member States may nominate up to 10 green hotels as a recipient for Green Hotel Award. All winners will be award a plaque and certificate of ASEAN Green Hotel Award with the 2 years validity.

AWARD 2014


  1. Amazing Ngapail Resort, Rakhine
  2. Malikha Lodge, Putao, Mandalay
  3. The Gavernor’s Residence, Yangon
  4. Myanmar Treasure, Ngwe Saung Zone
  5. Hotel Ace, Chaung Tha
  6. Villa Inle Resort and Spa, Taunggyi
  7. >Aye Yar River View Resort, Bagan Zone
  8. Mount Pleasant Hotel, Nawpyitaw
  9. Hotel Zwekabin, Mawlamyine
  10. The Hotel Amara, Naypyitaw